Translate

Search This Blog

Monday, June 30, 2014

Bookworm Buzz

The Woods #1The Woods #1 by James Tynion IV
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I LOVED this comic! My HS friends who are looking for a new comic book series will enjoy this story.  There is at least one character that EVERYONE can connect with and then root for throughout the story.  If you are looking for a fun read (and need a break from all of that AP work! :)) give The Woods a try.  I know that you won't be disappointed.  Go see Ernie at Friendly Neighborhood Comics in Bellingham today to pick up your copy!  Enjoy!


View all my reviews

The Misadventures of Salem Hyde: Spelling Trouble (The Misadventures of Salem Hyde, #1)The Misadventures of Salem Hyde: Spelling Trouble by Frank Cammuso
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

From the author of The Knights of the Lunch Table, Frank Cammuso introduces readers to Salem Hyde, a young witch, in this graphic novel series.  I really enjoyed it and can't wait to read more of Salem's adventures.  Fans of Babymouse and The Lunch Ladies will enjoy Salem Hyde!


View all my reviews

The Misadventures of Salem Hyde: Big Birthday Bash (The Misadventures of Salem Hyde, #2)The Misadventures of Salem Hyde: Big Birthday Bash by Frank Cammuso
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I love Frank Cammuso, and the second book in the Salem Hyde series was just as enjoyable as the first.  Fans of Babymouse and The Lunch ladies will enjoy this series.  I am going to have to ask Mrs. Richards to add these to her "to buy for Mrs. W's class," list!


View all my reviews

A Boy and a JaguarA Boy and a Jaguar by Alan Rabinowitz
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I really liked this book.  It has a great lesson and will be an inspiration for some readers.  It has many possibilities as a mentor text across the curriculum.


View all my reviews

Sunday, June 29, 2014

Juicy Nibble

Hi everyone! I am at one of my favorite places in the whole world with one of my favorite cousins, Stacy, doing one of my favorite things, reading!!! Check out the Google Doc, All about Mrs.W in the important Documents gadget on the right. If you think you know where I am, leave a comment. The first correct answer will receive a blue ticket in the fall, including former students.  Happy Sunday!  :)

Friday, June 27, 2014

Bookworm Buzz

Going PlacesGoing Places by Peter H. Reynolds
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I love the message of this book and the endless ways that it can be used as a mentor text across the curriculum!  It is a great addition to my Peter Reynolds collection. Enjoy!


View all my reviews
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Beautiful illustrations and a great message.  A mentor text for teaching metaphor and across the curriculum.  Readers of all ages will enjoy this book and teachers will find many ways to use it in writer's and reader's workshop. :)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
So many people are talking about this book so I  had to read it.  I resisted the temptation to read the ending, which is something I usually do, and am glad I didn't.  I knew that there would be a twist coming, I just didn't expect the twist that came!  I think this would be a great book to read with a group of my high school friends and really discuss the characters and spiritual elements of the story.  What a conversation we could have!  If any of my HS friends do read it, let me know what you think.  I can't wait to talk about this book with someone else.


Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Bookworm Buzz

Another Day as EmilyAnother Day as Emily by Eileen Spinelli
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

4th graders will like this story of Suzy Quinn and her connection to Emily Dickinson.  I can see some great non fiction text sets developing from this story!  I am heading BACK to the library to get Eileen Spinelli's other novels written in verse, Summerhouse Time and The Dancing Pancake.  Check back for those reviews! :)


View all my reviews

Monday, June 23, 2014

Bookworm Buzz

Some BugsSome Bugs by Angela Diterlizzi
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The illustrations in this book are amazing and will keep readers captivated.  Students will make many connections to the text.  It is also a neat way to introduce students to a "field guide," as this is narrative non fiction written in rhyming verse.  Can't wait to use this as a mentor text across the curriculum.


View all my reviews

Grandpa GreenGrandpa Green by Lane Smith
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Awesome illustrations, many great art connections here.  A good mentor text for writing lessons and discussing point of view.  Let me know what you think!


View all my reviews

Sophie Sleeps OverSophie Sleeps Over by Marisabina Russo
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Students will make many connections about the first sleepover and the anxiety that it can create for young people.  An interesting way to talk about friendships and how to solve issues with friends.  The topic could spark a lively debate about friendships. :)


View all my reviews

Hi, Koo!Hi, Koo! by Jon J. Muth
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A great mentor text for writing Haiku with a twist.  The illustrations are beautiful.  An interesting way to teach the importance of reading the Author's Note, and not skipping it as so many young readers do.  Enjoy!


View all my reviews

The Almost Fearless Hamilton SquidleggerThe Almost Fearless Hamilton Squidlegger by Timothy Basil Ering
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

An interesting story about conquering fears.  A great way to practice reading nonsense words and vocabulary.  Students will make connections and practice drawing conclusions.  The illustrations are beautiful!


View all my reviews

Friday, June 20, 2014

A Big Bite

Last day of 4th grade!
A card for me from Lindsey's 5 year old sister Carly.  Can you find the drawing of me? It is PERFECT!
Making silly faces!
Easy pose and Tree pose.  We are yogis!


Well, we finally made it!  The end of the school year, can you believe it?  The quote of the day was, "Wow, that went by so fast!"  It certainly did. :)
We thought that we would summarize our year in a list poem.  We hope that you enjoy it. :)

The Best thing about 4th grade
by the students in Room 23 & Mrs. W

Tie dying our shirts because it was fun-Tyler
Yoga because I have more balance-James
Mrs. Williams because she was always so positive-Livi
Our great teacher because she is always confident-Lindsey
Mrs. Williams because she gives me confidence-Shay
The line design project because I liked sewing-Aidan
Doing yoga with Mrs. Williams-Erin
Mrs. Williams because she always works hard for her students-Nick
Line design because it was very fun-Ryan DA
Our teacher and yoga because yoga calms me and Mrs. Williams gives me confidence-Manal
Math Olympics because it was fun trading other rooms-Madison
Mrs. Williams because she is really kind-Logan
Doing yoga with my teacher because Mrs. Williams taught me to breathe-Cailyn
Math Olympics because it was fun merging classes-Zach
Mrs. Williams because she always brightens my day-Abhiram
Puff Mobiles because you get to build something-Ryan DI
The 1st day of school because it was fun and "loose"-Nirupama
Mrs. Williams because she was really kind and helpful-Angie
Mrs. Williams yoga class because it makes me feel relaxed-Isabella
My teacher, Mrs. Williams, because she is really understanding-Nathan
My students because they are THE BEST STUDENTS a teacher could ask for-Mrs. Williams

Thanks everyone!  It was great to end on such a positive note.  Have a wonderful summer and come back and say hello next year!
Mrs. W

Friday, June 13, 2014

A Big Bite



We have had a very busy week with many posts and pictures.  Next week will be the end of the school year and these 4th graders will become 5th graders!  Be looking for more fun photos next week as we wind 4th grade down.  It has been an amazing year!  :)  Get ready for The Amazing Race-JFK style!

Juicy Nibble

Working with Mr Adams on the light your way project!

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Juicy Nibble

Tug of war!

Juicy Nibble

The start of the last Sports Day-the hopper ball relay!

My first mobile post! Liv and I are getting ready for school. She loves the shirt that you made for her. :)

Wednesday, June 11, 2014

Juicy Nibble



Music Show and Tell with Nirupama and her brother!  Very cool!

Juicy Nibble

Thanks to Nick's mom for taking individual pictures of everyone and emailing them to me for the blog!




















Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Juicy Nibble

We had a great Coffeehouse celebration today.  It was wonderful to hear the children read their own original poetry.  Thanks to Mrs. Hess for all that she does to help us weave visual arts into the curriculum.  Several parents and one grandparent took advantage of the "open mic," opportunity to recite for the students; check out the videos below!  Thanks to everyone who brought in goodies to help us end our celebration.  The children were so excited to have you there, thanks for coming in!  And the shirts look pretty cool, too! ;)